Skip to content

It’s all pies at Mad O’Rourke’s Pie Factory

July 12, 2012

So… how on earth to categorise Mad O’Rourke’s Pie Factory…

A friend in the area suggested I try this place while I was working locally for a few days. I’m all for investigating local restaurants and had had my fill of hotel fare, so off I set one Monday evening.

The layout of Mad Rourke’s is fairly standard for a pub serving food – lots of random wooden tables and chairs – with food ordered at the bar. I collected a drink and grabbed a vacant table in a raised section and had a look at the menus. Mad O’Rourke’s does a special deal on Mondays – pie and a pint for £5 on selected pies.. But, not wanting a pint (I was driving) I felt duty bound to select from the full menu, and could just not resist the Posh ‘N’ Becks Pie, a steak and stilton pie. The pie was served in a dish and accompanied by battered chips (crunchy and tasty) and mushy peas. I’m not a big fan of mushy peas but I have to concede that the Mad O’Rourke’s recipe is delicious. The pie was pretty good too – and nice puff pastry topping and full of meat, with just the right hint of stilton.

My friend had recommended the ‘world famous meal in a pie’ – steak and kidney and vegetables with a pastry lid and horns. It sounded intriguing but demanded a much bigger appetite – maybe next time…

Mad O'Rourke's Pie Factory on Urbanspoon

From → Gastropubs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

